Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



(a joint stock company incorporated in the People's Republic of China with limited liability) (Stock Code: 1133)

DELAY IN DESPATCH OF CIRCULAR

Reference is made to the announcement dated 4 September 2017 issued by of Harbin Electric Company Limited (the "**Company**") in relation to, among other things, the connected transaction in respect of the proposed issue of new domestic shares under the specific mandate (the "**Announcement**"). Unless the context otherwise requires, capitalized terms used in this announcement shall have the same meanings as defined in the Announcement.

As stated in the Announcement, a circular containing, among other things, (i) details of the Domestic Share Subscription, the Specific Mandate and the proposed amendments to the Articles; (ii) a letter of recommendation from the Independent Board Committee to the Independent Shareholders on the Domestic Share Subscription and the Specific Mandate; and (iii) a letter of advice by the independent financial adviser to the Independent Board Committee and the Independent Shareholders on the Domestic Shareholders on or before 25 September 2017.

As additional time is required for the Company to prepare and finalize certain information to be included in the Circular, it is expected that the date of despatch of the Circular will be postponed to a date on or before 16 October 2017.

By Order of the Board Harbin Electric Company Limited Si Ze-fu Chairman

Harbin, PRC, 22 September 2017

As at the date of this announcement, the executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Si Ze-fu, Mr. Wu Wei-zhang, Mr. Zhang Ying-jian and Mr. Song Shi-qi; and the independent non-executive Directors of the Company are Mr. Liu Deng-qing, Mr. Yu Wen-xing, Mr. Hu Jian-min and Mr. Zhu Hong-jie.